Facebook offers a couple of services that are worth noting. Memorializing your account enables friends and family to “gather and share memories after a person has passed away”
When an account is Memorialized it has the following features:
- Depending on settings, friends can share memories on the timeline
- Memorialized profiles don’t appear in spaces such as People you may know, ads or Birthday reminders
- Content shared by the owner of the account stays on Facebook and is visible with its original audience.
Should you wish, you can also set up a Legacy Contact who can manage the account by changing your photo, manage your tagged photos and respond to new friend requests. The Legacy contact cannot read your messages, log into your account, remove any friends or make new friend requests.